What Do You Remember?

Five years ago on September 11, 2001, Al Quaeda terrorists killed nearly 3,000 people in New York City, Washington D.C., and a field just outside Shanksville, Pennsylvania. On that date, most of you would have been eight or nine years old and in the third or fourth grade? What do you remember about that day? You were likely in school somewhere, but do you have any memories of what it was like to experience that day when you were eight or nine? Please share what you remember by writing a paragraph or two. Focus on, if you can, what you remember feeling.

Use Notepad to write your paragraph and save it to your network drive under this file name: sept11. After I read the paragraphs, we’ll publish several of them here on our blog.

Mr. Seybert

Explore posts in the same categories: Eng. 8A, Eng. 8B, Mr. Seybert's English 8 Classes

48 Comments on “What Do You Remember?”

  1. Craig K. Says:

    When 9-11 happened I was in school. I heard about two towers being hit, but that was all. I didn’t have a clue about what the two towers were I was left in the blank. Then after school somebody on the bus told me. I thought that they were joking. I didn’t really know what was going on until I saw the news that night.

  2. Stefanie T. Says:

    On September 11, 2001 I was in Mrs.Kolbe’s class. We were having guidence with Mr. Gosling. He drew and explained a tradgic thing happened. I had so many questions. It was very hard to comprehend. Two planes hitting the Twin Towers,another hitting the Pentagon,and another attack that failed against the White House. I was just too young to get it. Now im older I understand all the grief people went through. Losing someone you cared about and loved so dear. It would be hard every year to have this day to think that you lost someone so special.

  3. Coonor N Says:

    It was Tuesday morning and my third grade class and I returned from church when the 5th and 6th grade teacher Mrs B came in

    the room and told my teacher Ms. Schafer what happened. Ms. Schafer turned on the TV and I saw two tall buildings i have

    never seen or heared of on fire. After an hour of wacthing the news the class went back to its lessons.

    When I got home I went to my brothers football game, parents where talking about the attacks but i still didn’t understand

    what happened. When I got home I started to cry and asked my dad what happened. We went outside to play catch and my dad

    explained what was going on. I find ironic that I had never heard of the World Trade Centers before, but now I will never

    forget them and that even a power house like the United States can be attacked.

  4. Preston S Says:

    On 9/11 2001 I was in the third grade and in school when it happened. The teacher turned on the T.V. and we watched it for a little bit and then the teacher tried to explain it to us and I didn’t uerstand What happened at first but I figured it out. I was scared and sad for a while.
    At first I didn’t Know about the planes hitting the pentagon and the other plane crashing into a field.I didn’t know they had it planned for years. It all happened so fast that it was scary.I didn’t understand why the terrorists wanted to kill themselves or hit the targets that they did.

  5. Austyn laabs Says:

    When 9/11 happened I was in third grade. At the time I was in Johnston Elementary in Appleton. When the first plane hit, I was in social studies class. It was early in the morning, and I got called down to the office. It was about a call from my mom. She told me that a plane hit The World Trade Center a few minutes ago. I asked what that was and she explained.

    After lunch that day, our pricipal, counseler, and all the other teachers called us down to the gym. They explained in detail what happened that day. We went through that day of school scared out of our minds.

    When I got home from school I was reliefed to see that my family was okay. On almost every channel there was something about the plane crash. I will never forget that day.

  6. Ryan S. Says:

    I remember on September 11, 2001, that my teacher told us there was something bad that had happened in New York. She brought a TV in and told us to stop what we were doing and watch. Instead of classes all we did was watch the news about the twin towers falling that day. I was scared that the terrorists might bomb Wisconsin, or the school too.

    I couldn’t believe that someone would just kill people like that. When I got home that day I asked my parents if they had heard about it. “About what?” they asked. I told them to turn on the news. We watched the news all that night and they couldn’t believe what had happened. I told them that I couldn’t either when they showed it to us at school.

  7. Heather B. Says:

    What I Remember About September 11th

    It started off as a normal day. I was eight years old and in the third grade. I woke up,got ready for school,then went to school. So far, everything was going fine. Then during class the principal came in and then my teacher and him left the room, and we didn’t know why. She wasn’t back for a while.

    The rest of the day went on, and we had forgotten about the teachers acting strange. But then at the end of the day,they practically shoved us out the doors. Then we knew something was wrong when we saw our parents there to pick us up, because usually we walked home, or went to one of our friend’s house because our parents would still be working. I asked my mom why she was there to pick us up and she said that she would tell us when we got home.

    When we got home, she told us what happened. I don’t know what my brother was thinking, but I was scared. We turned on the tv and watched the video footage from earlier that day. It was terrifying. I was really paranoid after that, I thought I was going to die. I thought that a plane was going to crash into my house. I told my mom to lock all the doors, and I kept watching out the window for planes.

    Then later that day, my dad picked us up from my mom’s house. Right away, he went to the gas station to get gas before the prices went up. There was a really long line there and we had to wait 30 minutes just in line. That night I couldnt sleep, I was still pretty scared. I will always rememberSeptember 11th.

  8. Marcus K Says:

    September 11 2001 was a horrific day for the U.S.It was a Tuesday and our class just got back from church.We were about to start class when our principal walked in and told the teacher what had happened.The teacher quickly turned on the TV.As the teacher turned on the TV I saw one of the Twin Towers on fire and full of smoke. I felt scared because I didn’t know what was going to happen.As the day went on we heard more about what this horrific day.

  9. Alec S Says:

    What do I remember about Sept.11 5 years ago?

    I just remember being at St. Peters out at recess and having are teacher call us in and telling us the news, about the four planes,two ran into the World Trade Center, one ran into the Pentagon, and the other crashed in a field in Pennsilvania. Are teacher let us watch it and we were terrified when it happened. When I got home my mom watched the news all night and was very sad. I had a friends dad almost die but he forgot something at home and lucky enough he didn’t go into the World Trade Center.

  10. Nick k Says:

    Five years ago I was at school when the planes crashed into the World Trade Center and the Pentagon. I don’t remember if they told us at our school. I think I was told when I got home from school that day by my mom or dad. I was shoked to hear something like this would happened.

  11. Alaina S. Says:

    What I remember about 9/11

    On september 11 2001 I came to school just like an

    ordinary day. It was a tuesday so we had to go to church.

    After the mass the teachers to us back to school. When we

    all got back in to our class rooms our teachers told us

    about the terrorist attacks. When they told us I really

    didn’t care, I think I was to young to understand what

    really happened. After they told us what happened we went

    into the 5th and 6th grade class room to watch the news. I

    seen the planes crash in to the towers and it kind of scared

    me. I was thinking where they would do that in Wisconsin,

    but I couldn’t think of any so I didn’t care. For the rest

    of the day we pretty much just watched the news and talked

    about the attacks. At the end of the day I went home and

    told my mom about it. Back then I didn’t care about 9/11 but

    now when I watch videos its really sad and scary to me.

  12. Karley S. Says:

    When 911 happened I was eight years old. I did not hear anything in school until I went home. I asked my mom what happent she said,”two airplanes were highjacked and ran into the two twin towers”. First I did’nt believe her but then I saw it on the news. I was horrified that it happend. I was so depressed because alot of people are in those two buildings a day. Alot of people must have died. My dad came home from his work and he could’nt believe it. My mom and dad were watching it all night. I know I will never forget this day!

  13. Taylor K. Says:

    When 9/11 occurred I was in the 3rd grade and outside having recess when we first got the news from out teachers that 2 planes had flew into the World Trade Centers, and 1 had flew into the Pentagon. I don’t think any of us really got what was going on, I know i didn’t. That day we got an extended recess because the teachers wanted to watch it on tv, but they wouldn’t let us watch it, my friend and I were mad because we really wanted to see what was going on. We were also mad because Alec got to see parts of it because he was inside getting yelled at.
    Later that day when my mom picked me up from school I remember going to the gas station and having to sit in line and wait because there were so many cars. I also remember my looking up at the sign where it shows the gas prices and the price was over $3.00.

  14. Andrew B Says:

    On Septmber 11 2001, their was a terrorist attack. Four airplanes we hijacked one of the planes went down in Shanksville pensylvania. Two airplanes went and hit the twin towers in New york.The other airplane hit the pentagon.Their was at least 3,000 people killed.
    When the attacks happend I was in third grade in math class My principal walked in and took the teacher outside and they didnt come in for 5 minutes. My teacher came in and sat in her desk. Then my principal walked in after her and told us what happend.Then he told us that he was going to where he was going to be stationed to start training and then he was going to get shipped out.I will never forget what happened September 11 2001.

  15. Hattie Says:

    What I remember about September 11Th
    By:Hattie Thiel

    It started off just a normal day.I was eight years old and in the third grade.We were sitting In Mrs. Rogers class,about to watch a movie when she turned on the tv we seen what was happening.we watched it for a bit but no one really understood what was really happening because she didnt explain it to us.She didnt want us to get scared about it.At the end of the day we had gudience Mr. Gosling drew what was happening on the board.

    When school was over I walked home.When i got there my mom and my grandma were talking about it.We watched more of it and my mom tried explaining it to me what was happening.I was scared I thought terrorists were gonna come to my house and get me.I couldnt sleep that night.I will always remember september 11th.

  16. Cara D Says:

    The only thing that I remember from 9-11 2001. Is that I was sitting with my mom on her bed. I kept on asking her to shut off the t.v. and she told me to be quiet. Then I saw A whole bunch of people running from smoke.So then I saw one of the twin towers fall. And at the time I didn’t know what the twin towers were so I thought that my mom was wathing A movie.
    Once my mom told me that it wasn’t A movie then I felt really sad because there was all of these people running for there lives and I thought of myself being in that position and I would be really scared. And at the same time I was very mad at the people who ever was doing this. And I was scared that A plane was going to crash into my house.

  17. Yue pheng y Says:

    .After I came from school from Brillion Elementary my parents told me that a plane crash the twin tower in New York and it

    callapes and made a dust storm. That when we watch a little flash back when it was finish in the new, also when I heard that

    more that 100 peolpe died I was so scared.
    It was so weird that why would peaple do that to the twin tower. A news also just came in that they were searching for

    evidence or any survivior, but no one survive such a disastrous callapes. That was like an hour ago when they that was so

    scary.

  18. Zach P Says:

    What I remember about the day the twin towers were attacked is… That I was in 3rd grade and our teachers name was Mrs. Schaefer. In 3rd grade we were coming back from church that morning and the principal came in and told us to turn on the tv. The principal had told us to turn on the tv because the twin towers had been hit. Then someone in class asked were they were. Mrs. Schaefer said that they were in New York. So then the rest of the day we had watched on and off about the twin towers.

  19. Jeremiah K Says:

    5 years ago when the twin towers fell down I was 8. Septmber 11 it happened everybody was talking about it. I didn’t know what they were talking about. I had know clue what it was. When I got home my mom told me to look on the T.V. I thought it was cool. Once i knew what it was i thought it is scary.

  20. Josh S Says:

    What I remember about the day of the attack on the twin tower is…. I remember that I was 8 years old and I was in Mrs.Rogers class correcting an assignment when a little kid came in and told Mrs.rogers to turn on the T.V.. So she told me to turn on the tv so I did and they where showing two planes crashing into the twin towers so we watch the tv the rest of the day. I did not understand what happened or why it happened because I was very young at the time but I do KNow it was a horrific event and it shocked the world

  21. Aaron B Says:

    What did I do on September 11th 2001, I was in homeroom playing games because it was free time when our reading teacher Mrs.Deiter came in and said turn on the T.V. Shortly after our principal Mr. Apple came in and annoucned that the twin towers were attacked. After he left he went on the PA syetem and told us to bow our heads and think for all the ones that were lost and Mr.Peirce (Band teacher) played tapps over the PA system. Then we went through school like a normal day, and went home.

  22. Dalton D Says:

    On September 11 2001 the day the Al Quaeda terrorist attacked America. September 11 01 just another day at school, until around 2 or 3 o,clock I heard about the terrorist that hit the two towers in New York, and thats all that i remember.

  23. Rebekah B Says:

    I do not remember alot, but what I do remember is that I was nine years old and in the third grade. I also remember that I was at the kichen table doing my homework when my little brother ran down the stairs and told my mom to turn on the t.v. when we turned it on we sawwhat was going on and knew that New York was under attack. I was really scared and did not want to go outside for the rest of the day.

  24. Jamie H Says:

    What do i remember about September 11th? I remember doing my homework and the pastor’s wife told our teacher that the Twin Towers were being attacked and Mrs. Benhke told us to go outside while the teachers watched what was happening. We didn’t go into the school until the teachers told us to. That was all we could talk about during the rest of the day is about the terror attacks. Then after the attacks we watched the news on the towers and watched the whole thing on the news.I was scared and didn’t know what was going to happen next. From that day I will never forget that sight of the towers going down.

  25. Melissa M. Says:

    What do I remember of September 11th 2001? I remember coming back from church. We got to the classroom and our teacher Miss Schaefer turned on the T.V. and tried to explain to us what she could. Most of us did not understand, but she kept trying. I had a Dr. appointment that day so my mom came and picked me up from school and the whole way there neither of us said a word. We just listened to the radio. that is all I remember of that terrible day.

  26. Ariel B Says:

    On the day of the 9/11 attack in 2001,I was in school.I believe I was in the 3rd grade.I don’t remember much,but I think I was in Ms. Dieball’s room watching t.v.When I saw it I was young,but I understood what had happened.Of course I was scared,hurt and in total shock.These three feelings are not something you really want to feel,but in your life you must feel these things to become a stronger person.September 9th, 2001 had an effect on very many lifes.It always will and that day will be remembered forever.

  27. Kyle T Says:

    All I remember about September 11th is that I was in reading with Miss.Vight. It was not to long in to the class when one of the other teachers came in and told us the news.He first told us that the world trade center had been hit.He then told us what the newschannels said. He and most people in the room looked very upset.

  28. David L Says:

    What happened to me on september 11 2000. I was 8 and i was in the third grade. I was in
    Ms.Shaefer’s room. I was walking bak from church,be cause I was going to school at St Mary’s
    school.When we got bak into the classroom the principal came into our room and told us we
    should turn the tv on,beause the twin towers got it by some planes. So we turned on the tv
    and we watched it for the rest of the day.

  29. Ariel L. Says:

    All I remember about September 11th is I was in Miss. Vioght’s reading class and one of the older grade teachers(I hadn’t known who he was then)came in and talked to her. Then we went back to Mrs. Kolbe’s class and did pretty much nothing the rest of the day.

  30. Britta D. Says:

    If I can remember I was in Mrs. Rogers class room. When Mrs. Albers told her to turn on the
    TV. I could see the buildings burning, people running, and people crying.I don’t know how
    long we watch the TV, but the next day we said The Pledge Of Aledgence as a school. September eleventh will always remind me of that sad day. This experience has been bad, but also good which may seem surprising. Bad because people lost there lives, but good because America started to care again.

  31. Leah V Says:

    On September 11, 2001 I was about 7 or 8 years old and in Mrs. Kolbe’s class. I walked into the classroom and sat on the floor. Mr. Gosling was there and explain to us what had happened. He drew a picture of two plains and the two buildings. The rest of the day was a blur. I was younger so I didn’t know what an impact this would have on our lives. Everything has changes since that day.

  32. Kira K. Says:

    Five years ago, on September 11th, 2001 for me was just another ordinary day. I went to school and I was in Mrs.Behnke’s class. Then, one of the other teacher’s came into in the room and told us to turn on the TV. She had said that two airplanes had crashed into the World Trade Centers. We watched TV for a little bit and then we went out for recess. For the rest of the day, we just continued with our classes.When I got home that night I watched it on the news with my parents but because I was only eight years old I really didn’t understand what was happening.

  33. Trisha S Says:

    On September 11th, 2001 I was in the 3rd grade at Trinity Lutheran School. My teacher at the time was Mrs.Zutz’s. We were in a small school so we shared classrooms. In Mrs.Zutz’s classroom we had grades 3-5. There were a lot of different feelings going on at that time. I was in the 3rd grade so I was pretty much lost and confused. After we found out what had happened we joined in a circle,held hands,and prayed.

  34. Levi C Says:

    What I remember from September 11th 2001…… I was in school comming back from church because I went to a Cathloic school. The principal of the school came to my classroom and told my teacher to turn the TV on. The teacher turned on the TV and every channel was on about the twin towers and the Pentigon bein hit by planees that were hijacked by terrorists. Me and my class did very little work that day because we were watching what happined.

  35. Jenni D. Says:

    Five years ago on September 11th,2001. Sitting in Mrs.Kolbes room. We were watching or guidence teacher,and working on a worksheet. When Mrs.Albers walked into the room. We were told to keep working on our assignment, while they talked. Mr.Goseling came to tell us that two planes had hit the World Trade Centers. He was trying to draw it on the board. No one believed him. Everyone thought that he was just kidding around with us. Until Mrs.Kolbe turn on the television. There it was the first plane had hit the World Trade Center, they were headed for the Pentagon, and the White house. I really hadn’t really understood why they had done it. But I was greatful that nobody I knew had gotten died or got hurt. I still felt horrible for all the people that had died,who had gotten trapped, and also all of the people that had lost their loved ones. But it’s good that people remember the day,and care about the ones that were lost and the survivors. To this day I will always remember September 11th.

  36. AmyB Says:

    I was eight years old when i heared of the World Trade center and the planes that crashed into them. I don’t know where i heard it though. It was either at my school or at home. That day after school i came home and watched the buildings fall, it was horrible. I remember that day like no other day.
    My father told my mother that he and my Uncle Fats were supposed to be on that plane that hit the World Trade center. But my dad didn’t want to, because he didn’t want to miss his birthday. Because he wanted to spend it with my mom and me. And thats all I remember of that awful day that the World Trade center went down.

  37. Joe S Says:

    On nine eleven 2001 I woke up like it was a mormal day.It was a school day so i went of corse, but I didnt know what was ahead of me. I was going to guidens when i started hearing talking. I didnt really know what was going on. I just new it was bad. So I went to guidens, and Mr. Gosling told us that a plane hit the world trade center. He started drawing it on the white board. I didn’t relly know what to think of it, but i knew that the teachers were scared and not happy. We watch the news in like every class that day. Then i went home and that is all we watch too. So at the end of the day I didnt now what to think or what to say I just knew that this was not good thing.

  38. Tanner R Says:

    On September 11 2001 I was in third grade. I was in reading class when a high school teacher came to are room and said to turn on the tv. The teacher turnd in the tv and we wached the news all day.

  39. Molly S. Says:

    I don’t member much from the day of 9-11,but I will try to remember somethings.I remember getting up,getting dressed,and going to school.I also remember walking into school,putting my stuff away,and going to homeroom which was Mrs. Kolbes class.I think I was still in her class when the terrorists attacked the twin towers. I think I also remember her turning on the TV and we all sat there and watched wondering what was going on.I don’t think I knew what was going on at the time,but I do now.I remember going home and my family talking about what happened at supper.All I remember next is brushing my teeth and going to bed,and that’s all I remember from that day.

  40. stefanie g Says:

    I don’t remember much when the World Trade Centers were knocked down. I got up got dressed went to school. I remember putting my stuff in my cubby. After putting my stuff away I went to homeroom which was Mrs.Kolbes class. We were in her class when the terrorists attacked the twin towers. Mrs.Clark came in and told us to turn on the tv. I didn’t really know what was going on at that time until after I went home. After school I remember going home and my mom and dad talking about it. That is all I remember from that day.

  41. Amber C Says:

    What i remember from september 11,2001 is that i was eight years old, in third grade my teachers name was Mrs.Talbot’s room teaching math. All the teachers were really upset,but they would not tell us what happened. They wanted our parents to tell us. We continued the day like nothing happened. When i went home my Mom and Dad brought me and my brothers into their room. They explained that planes were crashed into the two towers by terrorists. We turned on the television and we watched the news to understand better.

  42. Sarah C Says:

    What happened to me on September 11th 2001.I was 8 years old.I remember we were in Mrs.Rogers room and Mrs.Albers came in and told us to turn on the T.V. As we turned on the Tv the first building went down.There was pitch black smoke in the air.I really didn’t understand what had just happened.I just knew somthing bad had happened.All day that is bascily all we talked about.When I got home my mom had the news on and they played the video over and over.I remember on one channel they said that in the smoke of the first building was the devil’s face . I believe that scared me the most.I don’t remember alot from that day but this is what I do. Since then I have learned more and now realize what a tragedy that was.

  43. Anna Z Says:

    What I remember about 9-11 in 2001! I remember I was 9 and i was in Mrs. Siefelts class, 4th grade teacher and we were just about to watch a movie about science i believe and when Mrs. Siefelt turned on the T.V. the news was on and it showed two air planes crashing in the twin towers. All of a sudden my teacher grew big eyes and said ” O my gosh!” in a scared voice. I didn’t know what really was going on but i knew that it had to be something terrible because of the way my teacher was looking at the T.V.. After listening to the news for like a minute to see what was going on Mrs. Siefelt ran out of the classroom to go tell the princibal. She was nearly gone for 5 minutes and when she arrived back the princibal was with her looking at the T.V. When the princibal looked at what was going on the went to tell the other teachers. After he had done all of that everyone in the school was sent down to the library to watch the news. All that I could see is other students crying. We stayed in the library until we couldn’t watch it anymore. After everyone was done watching the news there was a dead silience until the end of school that day. That was What i remebered about 9-11!

  44. Ashley K. Says:

    Five years ago on September 11th, 2001, when the terrorists crashed into the Twin Towers
    I was in Mrs.Rodgers class and I think we were watching it on the television.The part I
    remember the most was after school.We were standing around the television in the kitchen
    and watching the replay of the planes crashing into each building and all of that blackish,
    grayish smoke coming out of the towers. I also remember the people running for thier lives

    so the things that were falling from the buildings.

    After watching it on the television I remember me and my dad going over to the gas station

    and lining up for gas. The line was all the way down the highway! When I heard and saw what

    happened I didn’t think much of it because I was so young and I also didn’t know much about

    it but now I understand everything and can’t believe what they were and did do!

  45. Sondra H. Says:

    What I remember most about September 11th. I was in 4th grade, at my old school, we were having art class with Mrs.Lewis. We were making clay figures. When we found out about everyone was amazed. All classes (3-8) went into the library to watch the news. We didn’t do anything for the rest of the day.

  46. Loretta B Says:

    What i remember most about 9-11. 9-11 was the day when some terrorist attacked the twin towers. When it happened i was in my third grade classroom in wrightstown. I remember everybody in my gathering around the tv. I remember watching it all day and then going home and watching it again.

  47. Kyle T Says:

    Mildred fish was born on september 16, 1902 in Milwaukee.Her husband, Arvid Harnack was exicuted for being in an antihitler orginisation.Mildrid was exsicuted after 6 years of hard labor.This is why she has a day dedicated to her name.

  48. Josh S Says:

    Mildred Fish Harnack was born Septemeber 16, 1902 in Milwaukee hospital at 5:30am. She attended West High Highschool in Milwaukee. The publication of Mildred’s literary endeavors began in the 1920’s with her paticipation as editor and contributor to the Wisconsin Literary Magazine.Mildrede’s passion and devotion to literature continued in Germany in the 193o’s and early 1940’s through her translations of books and poems. She also wrote books and poems in German and English.She was executed by a gullitine in jail on Febuary 16, 1943 one year after her husband Arvid Harnack,who was executed on December 22, 1943 in the Red Orchestra.


Leave a comment